Postmasters running out of time to vote for new non-executive directors

The electorate, made up of around 8,000 serving postmasters as well as multiple partners, has five days left until the poll closes at 9.30am on Monday 12 April, to select up to two candidates.

The six serving postmasters contesting the election are:

  • Lee Dearn, postmaster for Sydenham, Belfast, County Antrim
  • Mukhtar Goraya, operates two post offices in New Eltham, London, and Rosherville, Kent.
  • Saf Ismail, operates six post offices in Lancashire and Greater Manchester
  • Elliot Jacobs, operates seven Post Offices in London and Hertfordshire
  • Jasbir Parmar, postmaster for Kempston, Bedfordshire
  • Sarabjeet Soar, postmaster for Styvechale, Warwickshire

All serving Postmasters should have received a unique code that enables them to cast their vote after logging in to and they can also see video statements from each of the candidates setting out why postmasters should vote for them.

Nick Read, chief executive of the Post Office, said: “Having two serving postmasters on our board sends the clearest signal yet of our determination to ensure postmasters really are at the heart of our business. I am encouraged by the calibre of the six highly qualified candidates. To sit on the board of any company carries great responsibility, a responsibility I know our postmasters will be well placed to fulfil. I look forward to working with our two new non-executive directors.”

The two candidates with the most votes will be put forward for approval by the secretary of state for business, energy and industrial strategy.

The Post Office will announce the two successful postmaster non-executive directors at the earliest opportunity following that approval.

Source link

Latest articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here